God’s Timing

I just returned from a trip to Louisiana to visit my mom and dad. While there we had to admit my mom to the hospital.  As  a diabetic with heart disease, who just happens to have cancer, so many different things seem to work against each other with my mom that it’s difficult to figure out what could be affecting her moods or health on any given day.  They finally figured out that her blood sugar level was so high (over 500) that she was confused, staggering and also eating everything she could put her hands on.  It was the steroids that boosted her sugar level and those steroids along with meds to increase her appetite were the culprits.  Once they admitted her, they were able to get her stable and also gave her blood because she was anemic.

God’s timing is evident in everything we do.  Two days prior to my going home, I couldn’t sleep for two nights and I had a bad feeling in the pit of my stomach.  I didn’t like the way my mom sounded on the phone, disoriented, but aware of her surroundings, somewhat.  I chose, at the last minute, to drive 5 1/2 hours home, unannounced.  I’m so glad that I did.  I was able to  see for myself what was going on and needless to say I became worried.  Just a day before the oncologist told my parents that they had exhausted all options.  Mom didn’t want to hear that.  God knew that I needed to be home.  Monday morning, as I was half-way preparing to drive back to Birmingham (I said half-way because 70% of me wasn’t quite sure it was a good time for me to drive back), my mom became jittery, nervous and scared and the insulin she took wasn’t brining her blood sugar levels down.  That’s when we drove to the ER and from there she was admitted.

God knew I needed to be home.  He knew that being home was where I needed to be and I was there at the right time.  The magnitude of what that means really hasn’t hit me. How else can one explain it?  No one asked me to come home and I didn’t plan it.  I just knew I had to go. We’re hoping she gets out Thursday, but we don’t want to rush it. I’d rather she stay as long as necessary.  For now, she sounds so much better and she speaks with such clarity.  Truly a blessing.

In the meantime, mom doesn’t want to give up.  She’s not ready. And I want her to dictate her path on this long, tough journey. Whatever makes her comfortable, we will do.  Besides, God’s timing (and my gut) will let us know what to do next.

 

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Timing

Leave a Reply

