Not Gonna Wait

It’s 10 p.m. CST, New Year’s Eve, 2011.  In a couple of hours we’ll mark the changing of the calendar into 2012.  When did changing into a new year become a ‘holiday’?  Stores close early, some restaurants serve ‘early dinner only’ and banks don’t process checks if January 1 falls on a weekday.  I wonder why we don’t celebrate any other day the same way we celebrate January 1? 

I was still awake at midnight, December 30, but I didn’t take a swig of champagne.  Why do we wait until the end of the year to compile “Best of” or “Top Ten” lists?  Why not do a weekly or daily “Best of” list?  Why do some of us wait until 11:55 p.m., December 31 to let loved ones know how we feel about them?  Why do we wait at all? 

In 2011, I started a new job, resigned from that job and instead decided I wanted to help take care of my mom.  I decided that my career wasn’t as important as loving on my mom and trying to do for her the same way she’s done for me the past 42 years. But the other day I realized that I’m NEVER going to be able to repay her for all that she’s done for me.  Not in the time allotted.  So I’m no longer gonna ‘wait’ to do anything. 

I’ve decided that in 2012 that I’m not gonna wait until ‘special occasions’ to celebrate life.  The true celebration is waking up every day to see a new day.  Thanking God for each sunrise I see. Watching my mom fight for her life makes me want to live life to the fullest.  I know that’s cliché, but I totally get it now.  If I want to swig champagne on a random day in April, I will.  I’m going to do a better job of calling my friends and catching up with them and not just on their birthdays or holidays. Instead of just talking about taking a ‘girls only’ vacation, I will actually do it.  No excuses.  Matter of fact, I’m gonna stop saying what I will do and I will just do it.

Yep, in 2012 I’m gonna do what God created me to do…live, share, give and excel.  I may not know what each day will bring and in some ways I’m still searching for my true purpose.  But what I will do is give it my all.  I’m not gonna wait.

What are you not gonna wait to do?

Happy New Year to all.  

3 thoughts on “Not Gonna Wait

  1. I really love the way you articulated such a basic priciple…live. Live well and live with purpose and don’t wait. You go girl!!

    Like

  2. Good for you, Ronni Lynn. Don’t wait to celebrate life.

    This new year’s my mother spend some time with us and my 17 month old grandson. It was really special bringing in the new year with 4 generations, but you are right – what difference did it make if the occassion was in the middle of March?

    Happy and blessed New Year to you and your mother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

