Just Because

The colorful flowers in this post are from my boyfriend Van. He decided to surprise me the other night with flowers and dinner with friends.  He said that lately he thought I’d been a little sad.  And I guess he was right even though I didn’t think I was showing it.  For two days he text my friends about the location and the time all while keeping me in the dark.  He worked hard to pull it off because, well,  if you know me, you know I ask a LOT of questions!  Even though I was a tad bit suspicious, they still got me.  I needed that time with my friends LaShanda and Rod at ONE of my favorite restaurants, Firebirds Wood Fired Grill in Hoover, Ala.  To Van, the flowers were nothing special, but to me it was the meaning behind them.  Though I’m staying positive about my mom’s health, sometimes it gets the best of me.  

Remember that sometimes it’s the small things that make a person feel better.  A quick phone call or a an email of support even when you don’t know what to do or say.  The small things mean the most.

 And in case you’re wondering, the food at Firebirds was excellent as usual.  I got the Cilantro Grilled Chicken with smoked tomato jack cheese sauce, LaShanda had the BBQ Grilled Chicken Salad, Van had the Pecan Crusted Trout and Rod had the juicy cheeseburger.  A great time was had by all!

Pecan Crusted Trout ~ Courtesy Firebirds

3 thoughts on “Just Because

  1. Pingback: Top 3 Ways to Overcome Motivational Roadblocks « Mental Health Food

Leave a Reply

