Reading Out Loud

I’ve been keeping a ‘journal’ since I was 13 years old. What started out as a project in my 8th grade English class turned into a lifelong obsession with putting my words and thoughts on paper. I have a gazillion five-subject notebooks, some tattered and worn and some barely used. Over the years I haven’t always taken time to write as much as I used to and sometimes now I just type a blurb or a quick paragraph just to get something off my chest. Periodically, I will share with you thoughts from my journal. Good, bad and ugly. But always real. Take a peek below at what was going on in September 2011.

IMG_1601

Outside my window……

September 2011

I am home, home as in my hometown and right now at this very moment I am listening to my mom read her daily Bible lesson out loud. That’s not out of the ordinary; except for this factโ€ฆmy mom is in her 3rd year of fighting lung cancer. As a matter of fact, three years ago today (or maybe yesterday) was the day we discovered she had cancerous cells growing in her body. My mom began reading out loud after she had her second stroke on Father’s Day, 2011, barely three months ago. When her first stroke happened, she had made some coffee, taken a shower and then she tried to speak. Nothing came out but GARBLED up words. During her second stroke, the phone rang, she picked it up to answer and when she tried to say hello — more garbly stuff that sounded nothing like words. I wasn’t in the room with her when it happened; it just so happened that mom and I picked up the phone at the same time and I heard her trying to speak. As soon as I heard the first chewed up word, I ran into the other room because I knew exactly what was happening.

What we learned from both of those strokes was that even though she was walking, moving, doing and being ‘normal’, if she wasn’t ‘talking’ we didn’t know if she was experiencing a mini-stroke. Anyway, now she reads OUT LOUD so she can hear herself and others can also.

One day she didn’t have her Bible lesson directly in front of her so I made her read the cover of Fortune magazine. OUT LOUD. I’ve learned to use what you have; I suppose we can apply that to many areas in our lives. So the next time you hear someone reading OUT LOUD, just remember that person probably has to do that just to stay alive.

Leave a Reply

