Did You Learn Something New Today?

Earlier today I registered for a class at Jefferson State Community College.  It’s just a basic Excel 2010 class, but I felt like I’d accomplished something.  See, even though I have experience in creating and designing programs and manuals and other documents requiring layout and design background (using Adobe software), I’m not as good using Excel.  I know HOW to use it and I know just enough to be dangerous. For some folks it’s simple because they might use it every day. But if you’re like me and you never had to really use it much, eh, well, let’s just say it was just never high up on my list of “THINGS I DO WELL”.  Wasn’t in the top 10, I can tell you that much.

I drove on to the campus and immediately I felt like I was back in college. All college campuses look the same, for the most part. As I walked into the Administration Building (aren’t they all called that?) to register, a familiar smell enveloped me. It was like 1987 all over again (my freshman year at Southern University).  Smelled like knowledge! Don’t ask me what that smells like.  I just know that every building on every college campus smells like that.  But I digress.  The smell of knowledge made me smile.  I smiled because I was ready for the challenge of sitting in a classroom from 8:30 to 3:30 (one day only!).  I smiled because I was proud of myself.  I smiled because I was ready to learn something new.

 What about you? Did you learn something new today?  If not, we should all make it a habit.  Read something different, watch something new, talk to a stranger.  You never know what you might learn.  

2 thoughts on “Did You Learn Something New Today?

Leave a Reply

