Those Good Moments

Lately I’ve been experiencing some really good moments.  And even when things have been bad, I’ve chosen NOT to focus on it. Life is choice-driven. Takes practice and lots of prayers definitely.  BUT, I’m reminded that when things seem awful or difficult they won’t always stay that way.  Though it usually feels as if bad times last forever. I’ve been extremely blessed lately and it has nothing to do with money or things.  And maybe because of the fact that I’ve not had much money or many new things lately I’ve been able to focus on what I do have, which is a lot!

My relationships with my friends and family and general acquaintances have made my life richer.  Since losing my mom to lung cancer in 2012, I’ve really had time to step back and take stock in my life.  Things definitely haven’t gone my way all of the time, but those bumps in the road have been true blessings in disguise. I know folks say that all of the time, but it’s really true for me.  I’ve got an awesome support system, even if I don’t always use it…I still feel as if I’m ‘bothering’ folks. But knowing I can always call on anyone in my circle gives me so much comfort.  Just knowing that provides a ‘good moment’.

My steps are ordered and God continues to prepare me for great and awesome things.  Every day I’m in awe at what He’s doing in my life.  The more I do for God, the better I feel and the richer my life becomes.

Take a minute to think about your good moments.  What do they consist of? Loyal friends and family? Great job opportunity?  New house? New baby? Kids graduate from school?  The best part about this short exercise is taking time to recognize that you’ve got it good…even when it SEEMS bad.  But honestly, how bad is BAD? Many of us have it much better than others.  Be grateful today and bask in those good moments.

Enjoying a beautiful spring day with a NOLA Ice Snoball!

Enjoying a beautiful spring day with a NOLA Ice Snoball!

Leave a Reply

