Am I Lazy If I Don’t Finish Reading A Book?

I read this article in The Atlantic today, “Finish That Book” and at first, I felt bad.  The author says that no matter how REALLY bad a book is, how slow it might read or how awful the characters are, you should always, always finish a book that you start.  I felt like she was talking to me because I am SO guilty of ditching a bad book before I get to the end.  But after thinking about, I realized that she had to be joking.  I mean, I can’t begin to tell you how many times I tossed a book to the side because it just didn’t catch my interest or I didn’t care enough about the characters or I got mad that it went in a totally different direction than I expected.  And I thought the point of reading a book was enjoyment and pleasure?  I know that there are some books that are read for educational purposes or to understand the beauty in telling a good story. But at my age I just can’t waste time on a bad book.  I just can’t.  And I am a major book lover even though I don’t ready as often as I used to when I was younger. I have ALWAYS enjoyed reading. Why ruin that enjoyment with a bad book?

What about you?  Do you ALWAYS read a book to the VERY end, no matter how painful it is to finish?  Or do you toss it to the side and hope that the next book will be a better book? 

One thought on “Am I Lazy If I Don’t Finish Reading A Book?

Leave a Reply

