It’s November and I’m Sharing Info and Sharing Hope

Everyone who knows me, knows I’ll post about my Southern University Jaguars and my Dallas Cowboys and random stuff in-between on Facebook. And most of you will “like” my posts unless you dislike the Cowboys or Southern University (and in that case…I still love you…maybe.)

But this month I will be posting about lung cancer awareness and if you follow me on Facebook (and/or Twitter) I would appreciate it if you would “like”, “share” or “comment”.  See, here’s the deal…awareness to me is about sharing information that will save someone’s life. Awareness is making sure I provide information so that others don’t have to go through what we went through when my mom was diagnosed. Nov1_LCAM15

Many folks still think that smoking is the ONLY way you can get lung cancer. Wrong! Just ask Janet Freeman-Daily or Tori Tomalia, non-smokers who were just living life like the rest of us. We can’t keep ignoring lung cancer or ignoring those with lung cancer. They don’t deserve the stigma or the blame. We can’t keep saying “it won’t happen to me because I don’t smoke”. If you have lungs, you can get lung cancer. If you are on Twitter please follow me @louisianagirl91 or just follow ‪#‎LCAM15‬, for Lung Cancer Awareness Month 15. I can’t wait to share stories about regular people of all ages who have been affected by lung cancer.

We want everyone to learn something about lung cancer (and the symptoms) and we want and demand more money for research so we don’t have to keep doing this. Without research we can’t find or create new drugs (among other things) that help those like Janet and Tori. Y’all know if mom was here she would be all over this, but she’s not. But I am so I will.

I also plan to participate in this year’s #BlogLikeCrazy challenge.  And it’s exactly what it means…blog like crazy, posting every day in November. Since I have so many stories of encouragement and hope for Lung Cancer Awareness Month, this should be easy. Right?  Right.  I hope you’ll join me in this challenge or at least share some information for #LCAM15.

Leave a Reply

